11th edition of Montreal Jane's Walk - Citizen wanted to discover the city


Press release

For immediate release

CITIZENS WANTED TO DISCOVER THE CITY !

11TH EDITION OF MONTREAL JANE’S WALK

Montreal, March 7th 2019 – The Montréal Urban Ecology Centre (MUEC) is in search of city enthusiasts to lead one (or a few!) walk(s) during the 11th edition of Montreal Jane’s Walk on May 3rd, 4th and 5th, 2019. Organized by and for citizens, these walks are a great opportunity to (re)discover the city and its secrets while showcasing the diversity of Greater Montreal. Citizens and organisations are invited to register their walk as of now!

“Each year, I’m impressed by the growing participation in this great citizen event. Citizens’ dedication to the Jane’s Walks shows their desire to reapproppriate the city in collaborative ways as well as work together to improve the livability of their communities”, says Véronique Fournier, Executive Director of the MUEC.

An online platform by and for citizens

The MUEC supports the organisation of the event by hosting informational meetings, and a user-friendly online platform where citizens can registrer their walk and find adaptable promotional tools. The online platform also promotes the walks and allows citizen to registrer their participation in a walk, thanks to an interactive geo-located map organized by walk-them. In short, the online platform has everything needed to facilitate the self-organization of a walk!

Citizens and organisations are invited to register their walk online at promenadesdejane.com before April 10th. Citizens of all ages are encouraged to participate. All topics have a place in Jane’s Walk: street art, the remains of a river, the hidden history of a neigbourhood, urban social and political movements… What matters is the desire to celebrate the city on foot and even by bike!

Paying Tribute to Jane Jacobs Across the Globe and Thanks to Donations

Jane’s Walk are held simultaneously in over hundred cities around the world in honour of Jane Jacobs, a writer, activist and philosopher of architecture and urbanism. In 2018, 94 walks took place across the Greater Montreal area. This free citizen event, where everybody is welcome, is made possible thanks to generous donor support. To make a donation or find more information about the event, visit promenadesdejane.com

About the Montréal Urban Ecology Centre

The Montréal Urban Ecology Centre is a non-profit organization created in 1996 by citizens committed to transforming their community. It proposes practices and policies to create ecological, democratic and healthy cities.

Facebook CEUM / Facebook Jane’s Walk / Twitter / LinkedIn

– 30 –

For further information or to arrange an interview please contact

Susie Larrivée, Communications Projet Manager

514 282-8378 extension 227

communications@ecologieurbaine.net

11e édition des Promenades de Jane - Citoyens recherchés pour faire découvrir la ville


Communiqué de Presse

Pour diffusion immédiate

CITOYENS RECHERCHÉS POUR FAIRE DÉCOUVRIR LA VILLE !

11e ÉDITION DES PROMENADES DE JANE

Montréal, le 7 mars 2019 – Le Centre d’écologie urbaine de Montréal (CEUM) est à la recherche de gens passionnés par la ville pour animer une (ou plusieurs!) conversation en marche lors de la 11e édition des Promenades de Jane dans la région montréalaise les 3, 4 et 5 mai 2019. Organisées par et pour les citoyens, ces promenades permettent de (re)découvrir la ville et ses secrets en valorisant la diversité du Grand Montréal. Les citoyens et les organisations sont invités à inscrire leur promenade dès maintenant!

« Chaque année, la participation grandissante à cet important rendez-vous citoyen m’impressionne. Cela dénote un désir de réappropriation de la ville par les citoyens dans un esprit collaboratif, afin de contribuer à l’amélioration de nos milieux de vie », explique Véronique Fournier, directrice générale du CEUM.

Une plateforme en ligne par et pour les citoyens

Le CEUM offre des rencontres d’information et une plateforme en ligne facile d'utilisation pour inscrire sa promenade, ainsi que des outils promotionnels adaptables pour chacun. La plateforme sert aussi de vitrine pour promouvoir l’inscription aux différentes promenades suggérées, grâce à une carte interactive géolocalisée et organisée par thème. Bref, tout ce qu’il faut pour faciliter l’auto-organisation de sa promenade!

Les citoyens et les organisations sont invités à proposer leur promenade sur la plateforme à l’adresse promenadesdejane.com d’ici le 10 avril. Les citoyens de tous les âges peuvent participer. L’art de rue, les vestiges d’une rivière, l’histoire cachée d’un quartier, les luttes urbaines… tous les sujets ont leur place. Ce qui importe, c’est la volonté de célébrer la ville, à pied et même à vélo!

Un événement-hommage international appuyé par vos dons

Les Promenades de Jane se déroulent simultanément dans une centaine de villes pour souligner l’héritage de Jane Jacobs, auteure et militante qui prônait une démarche communautaire en faveur des villes à échelle humaine. En 2018, 94 marches se sont déroulées dans le Grand Montréal. Les Promenades de Jane est un événement citoyen, ouvert à tous et gratuit, rendu possible grâce à vos dons! Pour donner et connaitre tous les détails de l’événement, visitez promenadesdejane.com

À propos du Centre d'écologie urbaine de Montréal

Le Centre d'écologie urbaine de Montréal est un OBNL qui a pour mission de développer et de proposer des pratiques et des politiques urbaines contribuant à créer des villes écologiques, démocratiques et en santé. Depuis plus de 20 ans, le CEUM a permis à des milliers de citoyens, organisations et décideurs de participer activement aux projets d’aménagement de leurs quartiers et aux enjeux urbains.

Facebook CEUM / Facebook Promenades de Jane / Twitter / LinkedIn

– 30 –

Renseignements et demandes d’entrevue

Susie Larrivée,

Chargée de projets – communications

514 282-8378, poste 227

communications@ecologieurbaine.net